Patrick Johnson Elected President of UFCW 1518

Patrick Johnson Elected President of UFCW 1518

New Westminster – On May 6th, 2024, our union was shaken by the news that UFCW 1518 President Kimberly Novak passed away. Since then, union members have come together to mourn our loss, celebrate her memory, and recommit to the values she championed throughout her career.

On June 6th, 2024, UFCW 1518 members and the community came together to commemorate Kim’s life and her legacy. Family and friends, joined by Premier David Eby, Federal NDP leader Jagmeet Singh, UFCW International President Marc Perrone and hundreds of community members gathered to remember not only the many ways Kim revolutionized our union, but the way she brought kindness, empathy, and solidarity to the forefront of labour cause. Our union continues to reflect on the immeasurable impact Kim made on our union, and commits to honouring her legacy.

On June 7th, 2024, UFCW 1518’s Executive Board unanimously elected Patrick Johnson as President of our union. Patrick is well known to our members and the community, serving our union in many capacities since 2009 – from working as an Organizer to serving as Executive Assistant to leadership as well as his most recent role as Secretary-Treasurer alongside former President Novak.

Patrick Johnson and Kim NovakAs Kim and Patrick shared a profound partnership, built on a shared dedication to our membership. Together, they achieved remarkable milestones and built a strong foundation for the local, uplifting the lives of thousands of workers across British Columbia and the Yukon. As Secretary-Treasurer, Patrick worked closely with Kim to implement their vision for a strong and united UFCW 1518.  

we welcome President Patrick Johnson, we do so with confidence in his ability to meet this moment and carry forward Kim’s legacy. Patrick’s extensive experience, deep understanding of our members’ needs, and unwavering commitment to our shared values make him the ideal leader for this next chapter within our union. Under his leadership, our union will build on the foundation that Kim laid and continue advocating tirelessly for our members’ rights. 

Please join us in welcoming President Patrick Johnson and recommitting to the values that Kim Novak so passionately championed.  

In solidarity,

UFCW 1518’s Executive Board

Jennifer Brown, Safeway 4966 

Connie Buckner, Cowichan Home Support Society 

Jhoelyn Cantil, Sunrise Poultry 

Angela Crosato, Safeway 4908 

Teresa-lyne Dziedzic, Safeway 4920 

Jaime Emerson, Save-On-Foods 2208 

Virgilio Encarnacion, Sofina Foods 

Marylou Fonda, Save-On-Foods 2223 

Nanette Fredericks, Mackenzie Co-op 

James (Jimbo) Grant, Save-On-Foods 0935 

Kathleen Guerin, Save-On-Foods 0931 

David Gutierrez, Save-On-Foods 0910 

Christine Holowka, Save-On-Foods 0967 

Erica Jones, Save-On-Foods 0995 

Anita Letendre, Save-On-Foods 0999 

Rajiv Mehra, Grand River Foods 

Armin Reyes, Safeway 4996 

Dennis Sato, Safeway 4976 

Joel Simmons, Save-On-Foods 0947 

Eleanor Smith, Penticton Home Support 

Jennifer Vecchio, Nelson & District Home Support 

Linda Wilson, Port Alberni Home Support 

Marlene White, Safeway 4977